Ticket for Driving in the Carpool Lane in California

Driving in Carpool Lane

VC 21655.5 (b) – Improper Use of Preferential Lanes – HOV Carpool

Legal Jargon

(b) The Department of Transportation and local authorities, with respect to highways under their respective jurisdictions, shall place and maintain, or cause to be placed and maintained, signs and other official traffic control devices to designate the exclusive or preferential lanes, to advise motorists of the applicable vehicle occupancy levels, and, except where ramp metering and bypass lanes are regulated with the activation of traffic signals, to advise motorists of the hours of high-occupancy vehicle usage.

No person shall drive a vehicle upon those lanes except in conformity with the instructions imparted by the official traffic control devices. A motorcycle, a mass transit vehicle, or a paratransit vehicle that is clearly and identifiably marked on all sides of the vehicle with the name of the paratransit provider may be operated upon those exclusive or preferential use lanes unless specifically prohibited by a traffic control device.

Carpool tickets for violating California Vehicle Code 21655.5 (b) VC are common types of traffic tickets issued by the California Highway Patrol (CHP).

What This Means

Drivers are issues tickets for driving in the carpool lane if they have entered an HOV lane without more than one passenger (not including the diver) during times where single driver cars are not permitted to use those lanes.

This is not a moving violation, so you will not receive any points on your divers license if convicted.

CA Traffic Tickets uses a 2-part system to get these tickets dismissed. We can fight these speeding tickets using common practices.

Pleading guilty to a ticket for driving in the carpool lane will increase insurance rates and leave you with unnecessary fines. You have options and you can fight and beat this ticket, with a justified legal defense.

The fine amounts for CVC 21655.5 (b) are $490

In California VC 21655.5 (b) does not carry DMV points.  But the violation does still go on a driver’s DMV record for 3 years.  These tickets may still raise a driver’s insurance rates, and that combined with the high fine amount, we recommend still fighting this ticket to keep your driving record clean and save money on the high fine amount.