Receiving a ticket for 55 MPH Maximum Speed Limit in California
VC 22349 (b) – 55MPH Maximum Speed Limit
VC 22349 b: Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no person may drive a vehicle upon a two-lane, undivided highway at a speed greater than 55 miles per hour unless that highway, or portion thereof, has been posted for a higher speed by the Department of Transportation or appropriate local agency upon the basis of an engineering and traffic survey. For purposes of this subdivision, the following apply:
(1) A two-lane, undivided highway is a highway with not more than one through lane of travel in each direction.
(2) Passing lanes may not be considered when determining the number of through lanes.
Speeding tickets for violating California Vehicle Code 22349 b VC are one of the main types of traffic tickets issued by the California Highway Patrol (CHP). If you have been charged with speeding 26MPH+ over the limit, you will not be able to take traffic school to remove the DMV point in California.
What That Means
When you receive a ticket for 55 MPH maximum speed limit, you are cited for driving at speeds that are unsafe based on traffic conditions (the drivers around you) and weather conditions. The courts must prove that you one or both of those conditions are true to uphold the traffic ticket.
We recommend you fight it, and we can help!
We get speeding tickets dismissed. Our success rate is 80%. In California speeding tickets carry one DMV point which stays on your driving record for 3 years. Each DMV point costs approximately $750 in increased insurance premiums over 3 years plus the fine which could range from $238-$490.
CA Traffic Tickets uses a 2-part system to get these tickets dismissed. We can fight these speeding tickets using common practices.
The fine amounts for VC 22349 (b) depend on the speed:
|CVC 22349||(b)||Speeding 1–15 MPH Over 55 MPH Limit||$ 238.00|
|CVC 22349||(b)||Speeding 16–25 MPH Over 55 MPH Limit||$ 367.00|
|CVC 22349||(b)||Speeding = 26 MPH Over 55 MPH Limit||$ 490.00|
In California VC 22349 (b) carries one DMV point which stays on your driving record for 3 years. Each DMV point costs approximately $750 in increased insurance premiums over 3 years plus the cost of the fine amount which could range from $238-$490.
The total cost if you just pay your ticket for VC 22349 (b) could be $988-$1240.
This is why you should NOT simply pay the fine for VC 22349 (b) and plead guilty.