Ticket for speeding over 100 mph in California
VC 22348 (b) – Speeding Over 100 MPH Prohibited
VC 22348 (b) A person who drives a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 100 miles per hour is guilty of an infraction punishable, as follows:
(1) Upon a first conviction of a violation of this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500). The court may also suspend the privilege of the person to operate a motor vehicle for a period not to exceed 30 days pursuant to Section 13200.5.
(2) Upon a conviction under this subdivision of an offense that occurred within three years of a prior offense resulting in a conviction of an offense under this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed seven hundred fifty dollars ($750). The person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 13355.
(3) Upon a conviction under this subdivision of an offense that occurred within five years of two or more prior offenses resulting in convictions of offenses under this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000). The person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 13355.
What That Means
Receiving a ticket for ticket for speeding over 100 mph is a serious offense in the eyes of the California traffic system. Usually, a person receiving such a speeding ticket was involved in speeding contests, which can lead to serious traffic tickets and even criminal records. California Traffic Tickets lawyers have developed strategies to combat this traffic offenses. We can help you fight this ticket.
CA Traffic Tickets uses a 2-part system to get these tickets dismissed. We can fight these speeding tickets using common practices.
Pleading guilty to a ticket for speeding over 100 mph can have long reaching and long lasting effects on your driving record.
These are serious tickets that have long-lasting consequences. Despite what the Vehicle Code says, most judges issue fines between $800-$2000 for these tickets on a first offense and 90% of the time they come with a license suspension.
Furthermore, and even worse, these tickets carry 2 DMV points that stay on a driver’s DMV record for 10 years. This could double a person’s insurance rates for years.
VC 22348 tickets come with a Mandatory Appearance and require either the driver to appear in person or an attorney to represent them. Traffic school is not an option.
The total cost of this ticket if you just pay it, over time, could be $5,000-$10,000. This is why you NEVER want to pay the fine for VC 22348 (b) and plead guilty.