Driving On A Suspended License In California VC14601 Misdemeanor Charges
If you have been charged for driving while your license was suspended in California, it’s very important to hire a traffic ticket lawyer that can help you win this charge. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, this is a VERY SERIOUS criminal charge that stays on your record and criminal history report for 10 full years. It also comes with additional license suspension, possible jail time, and very high fines in the thousands of dollars. It has DMV points which will appear, regardless of which US state you are in, since the DMV is linked.
Traffic Ticket Lawyers in California
While all of this is not ideal, the great news is that our lawyers have over an 80- 90% success rate at winning this type of charge, or reducing the charge to a simple traffic infraction – which is a minor ticket that stays on your record for only three years. Our lawyers can help prevent jail time, additional license suspension, and high fines, all without you having to make any court appearances. Our traffic ticket lawyers can handle everything for you from beginning to end, and likely to help you achieve a great result.
Driving is a privilege, and if you were driving while your license was suspended you will likely receive a “Driving When Privilege Suspended” ticket. The traffic ticket attorneys that work with CA Traffic Tickets can fight and win your suspended license violation. We can likely win your charge depending on the reason your license was suspended. For example, we have never lost a case for which a license was suspended due to unpaid fines in the past.
Driving When Privilege Suspended or Revoked
Outlined below are the California laws for driving when privilege suspended or revoked. Contact CA Traffic Tickets to learn more about how our traffic ticket lawyers can help you fight a suspended license ticket in California.
VC 14601. (a) No person shall drive a motor vehicle at any time when that person’s driving privilege is suspended or revoked for reckless driving in violation of Section 23103, ( )1 23104, or 23105, any reason listed in subdivision (a) or (c) of Section 12806 authorizing the department to refuse to issue a license, negligent or incompetent operation of a motor vehicle as prescribed in subdivision (e) of Section 12809, or negligent operation as prescribed in Section 12810.5 , if the person so driving has knowledge of the suspension or revocation. Knowledge shall be conclusively presumed if mailed notice has been given by the department to the person pursuant to Section 13106. The presumption established by this subdivision is a presumption affecting the burden of proof.
b) ( )2 A person convicted under this section shall be punished as follows: (1) Upon a first conviction, by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than five days or more than six months and by a fine of not less than three hundred dollars ($300) or more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
(2) If the offense occurred within five years of a prior offense ( )3 that resulted in a conviction of a violation of this section or Section 14601.1, 14601.2, or 14601.5, by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than 10 days or more than one year and by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) or more than two thousand dollars ($2,000).
(c) If the offense occurred within five years of a prior offense ( )3 that resulted in a conviction of a violation of this section or Section 14601.1, 14601.2, or 14601.5, and is granted probation, the court shall impose as a condition of probation that the person be confined in a county jail for at least 10 days.
(d) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from driving a motor vehicle, ( )3 that is owned or utilized by the person’s employer, during the course of employment on private property ( )3 that is owned or utilized by the employer, except an offstreet parking facility as defined in subdivision ( )4 (c) of Section 12500.
(e) When the prosecution agrees to a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of a violation of this section in satisfaction of, or as a substitute for, an original charge of a violation of Section 14601.2, and the court accepts that plea, except, in the interest of justice, when the court finds it would be inappropriate, the court shall, pursuant to Section 23575, require the person convicted, in addition to any other requirements, to install a certified ignition interlock device on any vehicle that the person owns or operates for a period not to exceed three years.
(f) This section also applies to the operation of an off-highway motor vehicle on those lands to which the Chappie-Z’berg Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Law of 1971 (Division 16.5 (commencing with Section 38000)) applies as to off-highway motor vehicles, as described in Section 38001.